Western Nevada College link link to Western Nevada College Web Site
WNC Home Page
Ask a Librarian Ask a Librarian
Home
About the Library
Distance Education
Students
Faculty & Staff
Contact Us
spacer image
Faculty & Staff
I Am Looking For  > Databases A - Z
Academic Search Premier

tutorial
provides full text coverage for nearly 4,700 scholarly publications, including more than 3,700 peer-reviewed journals. Coverage spans virtually every area of academic study from current articles back to 1975.
Access Science is the online equivalent of the most current edition of the McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology, which also includes biographies of scientists, recent science-related news articles, study guides, and web site links.
All Data

is the leading provider of automotive diagnostic and repair information.  The database includes manufacturer’s technical service bulletins and recall information; wiring diagrams; automatic repair information updates; as well as inspection forms, system checklists, and answers to common customer questions.  Note: This database is not available from off-campus.

Biography Reference Bank

 

tutorial
produced by HW Wilson,provides profiles of more than 500,000 figures from antiquity to the present.  The database is searchable by name, profession, place of origin, gender, race/ethnicity, date of birth, or keyword.   It includes images, bibliographies and millions of magazine articles for further research, as well as thousands of links to book review citations.
Britannica (Encyclopaedia) Online

tutorial
see the description under Encyclopaedia Britannica
Business Source Elite

provides full text for nearly 1,100 business and economics magazines and journals, including 500 peer-reviewed publications. It includes company profiles for 10,000 of the world’s largest companies and is updated daily.

Chronicle of Higher Education provides access to the complete contents of the Chronicle updated weekly. Users can search back issues to 1989. It includes data (by state) on faculty, students, and administrators from the annual Almanac of Higher Education. It also provides employer profiles and lists job openings.
CINAHL Plus

tutorial
provides full text for more than 560 nursing and allied health journals. This database contains over 600,000 articles as well as evidence-based care sheets, clinical innovations, drug records, and clinical trials. It also includes over 100 interactive continuing education units (CEUs) on patient care and drug administration.

Credo Reference

 

Help and Tutorials

includes the full-text content from over 500 reference books covering a broad range of subjects. There are over 3 million entries, 200,000+ images (art, diagrams, maps and photos), and over 100,000 audio pronunciation files and sound clips.
CQ Researcher Online

Congressional Quarterly’s award-winning weekly report series, provides in-depth, unbiased analyses of current controversial topics. Each issue provides a broad overview of a single subject including a history of the issue, important government actions, pros and cons, and additional reading lists and information for contacting relevant organizations.
Ebsco Databases WNC Library subscribes to over 20 Ebsco databases which you will find using this link. Select Databases A-Z for an alphabetical listing of WNC Ebsco subscriptions.

Ebsco Integrated Search

tutorial (flash)

tutorial (YouTube)

is a convenient and quick way to search multiple electronic library resources at once. Choose the subject you wish to search and it will search all the databases in that subject. If you select everything, this interface will search all Ebsco databases, as well as, Opposing Viewpoints, Literature Resource Center, and WNC's library catalog.
Educational Resources Information Center (ERIC) from Ebsco

supported by the U.S. Department of Education, provides full text of more than 2,200 digests along with citations and abstracts from over 1000 educational and education-related journals. This database contains more full-text ED documents.

eHRAF Archaeology eHRAF Archaeology provides researchers and students access to the full text of archaeological books, journal articles, dissertations, and manuscripts for comparative studies within and across regions. The database uses a modified Outline of Cultural Materials (OCM) for quick retrieval of information. Each major tradition typically contains an overview by an expert and descriptive materials on five to seven sites.

eHRAF World Cultures


tutorial

The eHRAF World Cultures is a cross-cultural database that contains over 350,000 pages of information on all aspects of cultural and social life.

Encyclopaedia Britannica Online

 

tutorial

includes more than 118,000 articles, as well as Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary and Thesaurus. It also provides links to Web sites selected, rated, and reviewed by Britannica editors.

Gale Virtual Reference Library includes the full-text content from over 200 special topic encyclopedias and other reference books.
GreenFile offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.
Health Source: Consumer Edition

full text for nearly 300 journals in health related fields. Topics include the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition

tutorial
provides more than 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. It also features abstracts and indexing for nearly 850 journals.
History Reference Center

offers full text from more than 650 history reference books and encyclopedias, 50 history magazines, 58,000 historical documents, 43,000 biographies and 12,000 historical photos, maps and other images.

Lexis/Nexis Academic Universe

tutorials

includes the full-text of more than 350 major newspapers including the New York Times, the Washington Post, and the Financial Times. It has a wealth of legal and business information as well as television transcripts.

Literary Reference Center

 

tutorial

includes plot summaries, synopses and work overviews, literary criticism, author biographies, full text of over 300 literary journals, book reviews, poems and short stories,the full text of classic novels, author interviews, and images of key literary figures. It also includes the full-text of hundreds of books which contain literary criticism including the Bloom Series from Chelsea House Publishers.
Literature Resource Center

tutorial

provides information on authors from all time periods and their works, including fiction, nonfiction, poetry, drama, and journalism. Over 100,000 authors are covered in general. "Author Resource Pages" provide a biography of the author and list of works, criticism and overview of the author's works, further resources, and current journal articles on selected authors.

Masterfile Premier


tutorial
provides indexing and abstracting to approximately 4,600 journals and general-interest magazines - 1,840 in full-text. It also includes hundreds of full-text books, thousands of biographies, historical documents and photos, maps and flags.
Medline Plus

Produced by the National Library of Medicine, this web site contains comprehensive information on medical conditions and diseases, drugs, current research, and clinical trials.

NetLibrary

tutorial (flash)

tutorial (YouTube)

provides full-text online access to over 4,000 e-books covering a broad range of topics.
Newspaper Source

provides selected full text for 25 national (U.S.) and international newspapers. The database also contains full text television & radio news transcripts, and selected full text for more than 200 regional (U.S.) newspapers.

Opposing Viewpoints

tutorial
provides thousands of pro/con articles on current controversial social issues taken from more than 170 books. It also provides overviews of related court-cases, and profiles of federal agencies and special interest groups including links to their web sites.
Professional Development Collection provides access to 440 full text journals oriented towards teaching.
Pubmed Central

is a free article archive from life sciences journals.

Resources for College Libraries provides reviews and information about the best print and electronic resources recommended for undergraduate study, featuring over 75,000 titles in 117 subjects. It is produced by the Association for College and Research Libraries and Bowker publishing.

Salem Press History

includes E-Book versions of the Great Events from History books(Ancient World, Middle Ages, Renaissance, 17th Century, 18th Century) and Decades (60s).

Science Magazine provides the full text of this magazine online from 1997 - current.
Student Research Center Oriented towards the high school student and beginning researchers, this database offers an easy to use graphical interface.
WorldCAT

searches the library catalogs of libraries across the United States and throughout the world.


Library Home | About the Library | Distance Education | Students | Faculty & Staff | Contact

Western Nevada College, Library & Media Services
Carson City Campus Library: 2201 W. College Parkway, Carson City, NV 89703
Tel. (775) 445-3229
Fallon Campus Library: 160 Campus Way, Fallon, NV 89406 Tel. (775) 423-5330
Copyright 2002 - 2010. All rights reserved. Last modified: 4/18/12