Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

WNC Library: I'm Looking For...

Books, Articles, Journals, and More

Databases and Journals 

If you are looking for databases and journals for articles, there are several options:

  1. Search the library catalog and narrow down your search by database, journal, or resource type.
  2. Consult the Database A-Z list to find a relevant database.
  3. Consult the research guide for the subject you are interested in; the librarians have listed the most useful databases for each topic.

The majority of the databases and journals in the WNC catalog are through EBSCO. There are video tutorials available here that cover basic and advanced searching in EBSCO, Credo Reference Library, Nexis Uni, and CQ Researcher.

Finding Books at the Library

Once you have done a basic keyword search in the library catalog, you can choose "Advanced Search" and choose the type of materials you want to find including books, ebooks, videos, and databases. Once you have the record of the book you want, the call number indicates where it is in on the library shelves.

The collections at WNC are organized on the shelves using the Library of Congress Classification System

A -- GENERAL WORKS

M -- MUSIC AND BOOKS ON MUSIC

B -- PHILOSOPHY. PSYCHOLOGY. RELIGION

N -- FINE ARTS

C -- AUXILIARY SCIENCES OF HISTORY

P -- LANGUAGE AND LITERATURE

D -- WORLD HISTORY AND HISTORY OF EUROPE, ASIA, AFRICA, AUSTRALIA, NEW ZEALAND, ETC.

Q -- SCIENCE

E -- HISTORY OF THE AMERICAS

R -- MEDICINE

F -- HISTORY OF THE AMERICAS

S -- AGRICULTURE

G -- GEOGRAPHY. ANTHROPOLOGY. RECREATION

T -- TECHNOLOGY

H -- SOCIAL SCIENCES

​​​​​​U -- MILITARY SCIENCE

J -- POLITICAL SCIENCE

V -- NAVAL SCIENCE

K -- LAW

Z -- BIBLIOGRAPHY. LIBRARY SCIENCE. INFORMATION RESOURCES

L -- EDUCATION

 

 

Subject and Research Help

Academic Coaching
One of the most useful resources that you can access through the library is our online academic coaching platform. By clicking on this link you will be able to connect with our academic coaches who will be happy to guide you as you work through class assignments or research a paper on a wide range of subjects.

Research Guides 
The librarians at WNC have created guides to help you find information about the different subjects you may be researching and the types of papers you may be expected to write. Use the drop down menu below to find a specific guide or use this link for more information on how to use the research guides.

 

Ask a Librarian

Email:  refdesk@wnc.edu 

Call:
Carson City and Douglas Campus: (775) 445-3229
Fallon Campus: (775) 423-5330 

When requesting assistance, please include

  1. Explain to us a bit of the topic you need research for (attaching your class syllabus is helpful)
  2. Class the assignment is for and the instructor
  3. What types of information are you looking for?  Books, periodicals, eBooks or videos?

The librarians will generally respond to your email question within a few hours but not more than 24 hours (except weekends and  holidays). 

Something Else

One excellent source of information for students is the Student Success Toolkit. Check back from time to time to see new resources that could help you in becoming as successful as possible in your courses.

There are many services and equipment available through the library including:

  • Laptops
  • Chromebooks
  • Calculators
  • Software: 
  • Anatomy Kits
  • Educational Kits
  • and more...

If there is something specific that you are looking for, we recommend reviewing the services available through the WNC library for students, faculty and staff, and members of the community.