Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

WNC Library: About the Library

About Our Collections

General Collections

With physical collections of approximately 30,000 books and 1,350 videos, the library also subscribes to general and subject-specific databases that provide access to over an additional 20,000 full-text journals and newspapers, 700 encyclopedias, and 200,000 ebooks. Search tools and guides to finding books, articles, journal titles, videos, and more are listed on the library homepage. For subject-specific guidance, please visit our subject guides or contact us.

The Bill Cowee Poetry Collection

In addition, the Carson City campus library is also home to the Bill Cowee Poetry Collection. Donated in 2007 by Carson City resident Bill Cowee, this collection of print books covers all aspects of poetry and poets from around the world. The collection can be viewed at the Dini building or located in the library catalog using keyword search "Cowee."

Carson City Campus Library, Dini Building

Address:
2201 West College Parkway
Carson City, NV 89703

Phone Number:
775-445-3229

Click here for the current library hours.


Originally established when the campus opened in 1974, the Carson City campus library moved to its current location in January 2004. Funding for the project was appropriated by the Nevada State Legislature, thanks in large part to the efforts of former Assemblyman Joe Dini of Yerington.

Mission

Our Mission Statement

The mission of the Western Nevada College Library & Media Services (LMS) is to support the educational programs of the college throughout the service area; to foster the ability of students, faculty, and staff to use information sources independently and effectively; and to provide a physical and virtual environment conducive to learning. 

Strategic Goals

Goal 1: Improve student success in program completion and graduation rates.

  • LMS personnel assist and teach students, faculty, and staff in the effective and ethical use of library and information resources.

 

Goal 2: Ensure institutional excellence in teaching, programs and services.

  • LMS information resources and services support the college’s educational programs through the acquisition and maintenance of a current, relevant, and diverse print and online collection of materials.

 

Goal 3: Embrace our college's many communities and respond to their diverse needs.

  • LMS information resources and services are available to students, faculty, and staff whether they are on campus or off-campus.

Fallon Campus Beck Library, Virgil Getto Building

Address: 
160 Campus Way
Fallon, NV 89406

Phone Number:
775-445-3392

Click here for the current library hours.
 

Named after Alicia and Manuel Beck, the library received a $400,000 endowment to allow for continued expansion of services, materials, and equipment in order to serve the Fallon campus facilities.

Contact Us

General Information Phone Number  
Carson City: Circulation Desk 775-445-3229  
Fallon: Circulation Desk 775-445-3392  
     
Research Help & Reference Services Phone Number Email Address
Carson City 775-445-3229 refdesk@wnc.edu
Fallon 775-445-3392 ronald.belbin@wnc.edu
     
Library Instruction & Orientation Phone Number Email Address
Carson City: Ron Belbin 775-445-3223 ronald.belbin@wnc.edu
Fallon: Ron Belbin 775-445-3392 ronald.belbin@wnc.edu
     
Reserve Materials (Physical Items) Phone Number Email Address
Carson City: Ron Belbin 775-445-3223 ronald.belbin@wnc.edu
Fallon: Ron Belbin 775-445-3392 ronald.belbin@wnc.edu