WNCLibrary: Art: Databases &amp; Journals

Finding Articles

For guidance on finding appropriate databases, journals, and articles, we have these guides and tutorials:

For information regarding expanding or limiting your search results, please see these guides:

Academic Search Premier (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
provides full text coverage for nearly 4,700 scholarly publications, including more than 4,000 peer-reviewed full-text journals. Coverage spans virtually every area of academic study.

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
includes the full-text content from over 850 encyclopedias and other reference books covering a broad range of subjects. There are over 3 million articles and 200,000+ images (art, diagrams, maps and photos).
eHRAF World Cultures This link opens in a new window
is a cross-cultural database that contains over 350,000 pages of information on all aspects of cultural and social life excerpted from anthropological books. Produced by Yale University.
MasterFILE Complete (Ebscohost) This link opens in a new window
provides indexing and abstracting to approximately 4,600 journals and general-interest magazines - more than 2,300 in full-text. It also includes hundreds of full-text books, thousands of biographies, historical documents and photos, maps and flags.

Arts
Arts is an international, peer-reviewed, open access journal promoting significant research on all aspects of the visual and performing arts, published quarterly online by MDPI.
Panorama
Journal of the Association of Historians of American Art.
Nineteenth-Century Art Worldwide
Founded in 2002, Nineteenth-Century Art Worldwide (NCAW) is a scholarly, refereed, open-access journal devoted to the study of nineteenth-century art and visual culture across the globe.

These tutorials from Niche Academy provide an excellent overview of how to use the various databases you have access to through the library.