WNCLibrary: Deaf Studies: Databases &amp; Journals

Finding Articles

For guidance on finding appropriate databases, journals, and articles, we have these guides and tutorials:

For information regarding expanding or limiting your search results, please see these guides:

Academic Search Premier (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
provides full text coverage for nearly 4,700 scholarly publications, including more than 4,000 peer-reviewed full-text journals. Coverage spans virtually every area of academic study.
Educational Resources Information Center (ERIC) This link opens in a new window
supported by the U.S. Department of Education, provides full text of more than 2,200 digests along with citations and abstracts from over 1000 educational and education-related journals. This database contains more full-text ED documents.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
provides more than 330 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. It also features abstracts and indexing for nearly 850 journals.

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
includes the full-text content from over 850 encyclopedias and other reference books covering a broad range of subjects. There are over 3 million articles and 200,000+ images (art, diagrams, maps and photos).
PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed, from the National Library of Medicine, comprises more than 30 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.

Journal of Deaf Studies and Deaf Education
The Journal of Deaf Studies and Deaf Education is a peer-reviewed scholarly journal integrating and coordinating basic and applied research relating to individuals who are deaf, including cultural, developmental, linguistic, and educational topics.
Deaf Studies Digital Journal
The Deaf Studies Digital Journal (also known as DSDJ) is the world’s first peer-reviewed journal dedicated to advancing the cultural, creative, and critical output of published work in and about sign languages and Deaf culture. Unlike other academic and cultural publications, the DSDJ is a bilingual and bimodal publication primarily presented in both American Sign Language and English.
Deafness and Education International
Deafness and Education International is a quarterly peer-reviewed journal and publishes scholarly papers relevant to the education of deaf infants, children and young people, and their linguistic, educational, social and cognitive development.

These tutorials from Niche Academy provide an excellent overview of how to use the various databases you have access to through the library.