Education and Teaching

For guidance on finding appropriate databases, journals, and articles, we have these guides and tutorials:

• How To: Academic Research
• Types of Sources
• Databases & Journals
• Using Google Scholar

For information regarding expanding or limiting your search results, please see these guides:

• Advanced Search Options
• Expand or Narrow Your Search

Education majors may want to explore the following databases oriented to K-12 students including:

• Explora for Secondary Schools

  A research tool for students in grades 6-12. Articles can be sorted by reading level. The database also includes a section for teachers with lesson plans, curriculum standards and scavenger hunts.

• Explora for Primary Schools

  Designed specifically for students in grades K-5, Articles can be sorted by reading level. The database also includes a section for teachers with lesson plans, curriculum standards and scavenger hunts.

• Educational Resources Information Center (ERIC)

  supported by the U.S. Department of Education, provides full text of more than 2,200 digests along with citations and abstracts from over 1000 educational and education-related journals. This database contains more full-text ED documents.

• Professional Development Collection

  provides access to 440 full text journals oriented towards teaching.

• Teacher Reference Center

  Teacher Reference Center covers a variety of topics of interest to teachers, including best practices, curriculum development and school administration.

• Current Issues in Comparative Education
  Current Issues in Comparative Education (CICE) is a leading open-access online academic journal from Teachers College, Columbia University.
• International Journal of Education Policy & Leadership
  IJEPL is a refereed electronic journal dedicated to enriching the education policy, leadership, and research use knowledge bases, and promoting exploration and analysis of policy alternatives.
• Theory & Practice in Rural Education
  This online, peer-reviewed, open access journal, publishes articles focused on issues related to rural schools, students, educators, institutions of higher education, and communities.

Directories

• 99 Excellent Open Access Journals for Educators
  This list, created by OnlineCollege.org, is one of the best open-access journal directories for education and teaching. 

These tutorials from Niche Academy provide an excellent overview of how to use the various databases you have access to through the library.