WNCLibrary: Engineering: Databases &amp; Journals

Finding Articles

For guidance on finding appropriate databases, journals, and articles, we have these guides and tutorials:

For information regarding expanding or limiting your search results, please see these guides:

Academic Search Premier (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
provides full text coverage for nearly 4,700 scholarly publications, including more than 4,000 peer-reviewed full-text journals. Coverage spans virtually every area of academic study.
Greenfile This link opens in a new window
offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.

Science Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Science Reference Center contains the full text for hundreds of science magazines, journals, encyclopedias, reference books and a vast collection of images.
Mainfile (Ebscohost) This link opens in a new window
MainFile is a multi-disciplinary database providing full text for more than 12,000 publications, including many trade journals in the vocational fields, including construction, welding, machine tool, electronics, and automotive.

Advances in Civil Engineering
This is an open access, peer-reviewed journal that publishes articles and reviews about theoretical and practical studies focused on any manner of civil engineering subjects, including new technologies and applications.
Modern Mechanical Engineering
MME is an open access, peer-reviewed journal published by Scientific Researcher; articles and information cover topics from 2011 to the present.
Materials Sciences and Applications
MSA, published by Scientific Researcher, focuses on publishing research articles and reviews regarding material sciences, manufacturing, and engineering.

These tutorials from Niche Academy provide an excellent overview of how to use the various databases you have access to through the library.