WNCLibrary: World History: Databases &amp; Journals

Finding Articles

For guidance on finding appropriate databases, journals, and articles, we have these guides and tutorials:

For information regarding expanding or limiting your search results, please see these guides:

Best Databases for Finding Articles

Academic Search Premier (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
provides full text coverage for nearly 4,700 scholarly publications, including more than 4,000 peer-reviewed full-text journals. Coverage spans virtually every area of academic study.
HeinOnline Academic This link opens in a new window
HeinOnline Academic includes more than 100 million pages of multidisciplinary content in more than 100 subject areas, including history, political science, criminal justice, religious studies, international relations, women’s studies, pre-law, and many more. With more historical content than any other database, HeinOnline provides access to 300+ years of information on political development and the complete history of the creation of government and legal systems around the world. Among the many databases included, HeinOnline’s journal collection features nearly 2,800 periodicals relating to a variety of subject areas, with all coverage dating from inception to the most currently published issues in most cases.
eHRAF World Cultures This link opens in a new window
is a cross-cultural database that contains over 350,000 pages of information on all aspects of cultural and social life excerpted from anthropological books. Produced by Yale University.
History Reference Center (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
offers full text from over 2,000 books, 200 leading history journals, nearly 57,000 historical documents, more than 78,000 biographies of historical figures, 113,000 historical photos and maps, and 80 hours of historical video.
MasterFILE Complete (Ebscohost) This link opens in a new window
provides indexing and abstracting to approximately 4,600 journals and general-interest magazines - more than 2,300 in full-text. It also includes hundreds of full-text books, thousands of biographies, historical documents and photos, maps and flags.
Salem Press History This link opens in a new window
includes e-book versions of the Great Events from History books (Ancient World, Middle Ages, Renaissance, 17th Century, 18th Century), the Encyclopedia of American Immigration, and the Sixties Decades published by Salem Press.

Other Useful Databases

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
includes the full-text content from over 850 encyclopedias and other reference books covering a broad range of subjects. There are over 3 million articles and 200,000+ images (art, diagrams, maps and photos).
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
provides in-depth, unbiased analyses of current controversial topics. Each issue provides a broad overview of a single subject including a history of the issue, important government actions, pros and cons, and additional links to books, articles, websites on the topic. Produced by Congressional Quarterly.

Journals

Culture & History Digital Journal
Culture & History Digital Journal is a scientific journal published by CSIC and edited by the Instituto de Historia at CCHS, aimed to contribute to the methodological debate among historians and other scholars specialized in the fields of Human and Social Sciences, at an international level.
Histories
Histories is an international, multidisciplinary, peer-reviewed, and scientific open access, open-source journal that covers the topics on inquiry of change and continuity of human societies (on various scales and with different approaches, including environmental, social and technological studies).
Medieval Worlds
Medieval Worlds provides a forum for comparative, interdisciplinary and transcultural studies of the Middle Ages. Its aim is to overcome disciplinary boundaries, regional limits and national research traditions in Medieval Studies, to open up new spaces for discussion, and to help developing global perspectives.

Niche Academy Tutorials: Databases

These tutorials from Niche Academy provide an excellent overview of how to use the various databases you have access to through the library.

World History

Quick Links

Finding Articles

Best Databases for Finding Articles

Other Useful Databases

Journals

Niche Academy Tutorials: Databases

Contact the Library at WNC