WNCLibrary: Nursing &amp; Medicine: Databases &amp; Journals

Finding Articles

For guidance on finding appropriate databases, journals, and articles, we have these guides and tutorials:

For information regarding expanding or limiting your search results, please see these guides:

Best Databases for Finding Articles

CINAHL Plus with Full Text (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
provides full text for more than 770 nursing and allied health journals and indexing of more than 5,000 journals. This database contains over 5.3 million records, as well as evidence-based care sheets, clinical innovations, drug records, and clinical trials. It also includes over 100 interactive continuing education units (CEUs) on patient care and drug administration.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
provides more than 330 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. It also features abstracts and indexing for nearly 850 journals.
Health Source: Consumer Edition (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
full text for nearly 100 journals in health related fields. Topics include the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed, from the National Library of Medicine, comprises more than 30 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
PubMed Central This link opens in a new window
a subset of PubMed, provides 5 million free, full-text articles from government sponsored research grants published in life sciences journals. Produced by the National Library of Medicine.

Other Useful Databases

MEDLINE This link opens in a new window
Created by the United States National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE is an authoritative bibliographic database containing citations and abstracts for biomedical and health journals used by health care professionals, nurses, clinicians and researchers. MEDLINE is searchable through the PubMed database.
Academic Search Premier (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
provides full text coverage for nearly 4,700 scholarly publications, including more than 4,000 peer-reviewed full-text journals. Coverage spans virtually every area of academic study.

Journals

Journal Publishers

Dove Medical Press
Also accessible through PubMed, Dove Medical Press offers a number of peer-reviewed, open access, medical and scientific journals. The full journal list is located at the bottom of the main page.
BioMed Central
BMC has an evolving portfolio of some 300 peer-reviewed journals, sharing discoveries from research communities in science, technology, engineering and medicine.
Free Medical Journals
A directory of open access medical journals.
MedEdPORTAL Publications
Various publications produced by the Association of American Medical Colleges.
PLOS (Public Library of Science)
PLOS is a nonprofit, Open Access publisher empowering researchers to accelerate progress in science and medicine by leading a transformation in research communication.

Individual Journals

BioMed
BioMed is an international, peer-reviewed, open access journal, aims to provide a publishing platform that covers the broad field of subjects in biology and medicine. BioMed is published quarterly online by MDPI.
Cancers
Cancers is a peer-reviewed, open access journal of oncology published semimonthly online by MDPI.
Current Oncology
Current Oncology is an international, scientific, peer-reviewed, open access journal published bi-monthly online by MDPI (from Volume 28 Issue 1-2021). Established in 1994, the journal represents a multidisciplinary medium for clinical oncologists to report and review progress in the management of this disease.
Diseases
Diseases is an international, peer-reviewed, open access, multidisciplinary journal which focuses on the latest and outstanding research on diseases and conditions published quarterly online by MDPI.
Healthcare
Healthcare is an international, scientific, peer-reviewed, open access journal on health care systems, industry, technology, policy, and regulation, and is published monthly online by MDPI.
Hearts
Hearts is an international, peer-reviewed, open access journal of cardiology, published quarterly online by MDPI.
Journal of Respiration
Journal of Respiration is an international, multidisciplinary, peer-reviewed and scientific open access, open-source journal that covers the topics on all aspects of respiratory science in humans.
Medical Sciences
Medical Sciences is an international, peer-reviewed, open access, scientific journal, providing a platform for advances in basic, translational and clinical research. The journal aims to publish original research, review articles and short communications about molecular and cellular processes in disease, in order to increase understanding of the fundamental principles and biological questions of medicine.
Nursing Reports
Nursing Reports is an international, scientific, peer-reviewed open access journal on nursing sciences, published quarterly online by MDPI (from Volume 10 Issue 1 - 2020).
Reproductive Medicine
Reproductive Medicine is a peer-reviewed, open access journal on obstetrics and gynecology published quarterly online by MDPI.

Niche Academy Tutorials: Databases

These tutorials from Niche Academy provide an excellent overview of how to use the various databases you have access to through the library.

Nursing & Medicine

Quick Links

PubMed Tutorials

Finding Articles

Best Databases for Finding Articles

Other Useful Databases

Journals

Niche Academy Tutorials: Databases

Contact the Library at WNC