Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Nevada History: Newspapers

Nevada Newspapers

Online Search Tools to Historical  Newspapers

Cooperative Libraries Automated Network Digital Collections

Chronicling America:  Historic American Newspapers (Library of Congress; from 1836 - 1922)  
This collection doesn't include Nevada newspapers, but you can find articles about Nevada (written in other state newspapers) during this time period.

Historical U.S. Newspapers Online (Nevada):  A selective list of historical newspapers from Nevada available through Bowling Green State University.

Newspaper Archive This online tool contains full-text historical newspapers from Nevada, as well as other states,  dating back to the 1800s. ( Available at the Nevada State Library & Archives and the UNR Knowledge Center Library)

Print Collections of Historical Nevada Newspapers

Nevada State Library & Archives Nevada Newspaper Holdings (by newspaper title)

Current Nevada Newspaper Links

Current Nevada Newspapers & Television Stations (Many of these require a subscription or fee to read/download the complete article.)

Local Nevada Newspapers

To locate current articles, try one of the following:

—Nevada Appeal online (2001-present)
◦Librarian will access for you – on campus only
◦Non-subscribers can access one year for free.
 
—Reno Gazette  (newspaper website)
Use this link if you don't have a password.
Non-subscribers can access one year for free.
 
Use this link to access through Washoe Co. Library (Reno).
◦ Anyone can get a Washoe card with NV ID.
 
◦Non-subscribers can get 7 years online access for free!

Newspaper Databases

Finding news by state or region using Lexis/Nexis