Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Off-Campus Database Access
Students and staff must log in with their WNC Anywhere passwords when using the library databases from off-campus. The WNC Anywhere passwords are used to access myWNC, the campus wireless network and Canvas. The following links should help resolve most log in problems:
If you need additional help logging in, contact the library at 775-445-3229 or 775-445-3227.
Good Starting Points
provides in-depth, unbiased analyses of current controversial topics. Each issue provides a broad overview of a single subject including a history of the issue, important government actions, pros and cons, and additional links to books, articles, websites on the topic. Produced by Congressional Quarterly.
Academic Search Premier (EBSCOhost)
provides full text coverage for nearly 4,700 scholarly publications, including more than 4,000 peer-reviewed full-text journals. Coverage spans virtually every area of academic study.
MasterFILE Complete (Ebscohost)
provides indexing and abstracting to approximately 4,600 journals and general-interest magazines - more than 2,300 in full-text. It also includes hundreds of full-text books, thousands of biographies, historical documents and photos, maps and flags.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context
provides analyses of today’s social issues. With over 19,000 viewpoint essays, thousands of topic overviews and court-case overviews, OVIC helps students explore issues from all perspectives. In addition to traditional resources like books, magazines and journals, OVIC includes links to vetted websites as well as integrated multimedia to quality podcasts and video, national and global news sources, and much more.
Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis) features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790.
Choosing a Database by Subject or Title
Databases by Subject
Use this guide to help you to find a database that covers your topic.
Use this guide to help you to find a list of databases by title.
If you can't find information on your topic using the library databases, try this more scholarly version of google that limits the search results primarily to journal articles.