Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Bloom's Literature - Tutorial
Literature Resource Center: The Basics
Literature Resource Center: Searching
WNC Literary Journal Subscriptions
Click on the link below to get a list of literary journals available through the WNC Library databases.
Off-Campus Database Access
Students and staff must log in with their WNC Anywhere passwords when using the library databases from off-campus. The WNC Anywhere passwords are used to access myWNC, the campus wireless network and Canvas. The following links should help resolve most log in problems:
If you need additional help logging in, contact the library at 775-445-3229 or 775-445-3227.
Literary & Biographical Databases
Literary Reference Center Plus
This full-text database combines information from reference works, books and literary journals on thousands of authors and their works across literary disciplines and timeframes.
Bloom's Literature Tip Sheet
An 11 page overview of the Bloom's Literature database and tips on how to search for authors, titles, characters, literary themes, etc.
Biography Reference Bank (EBSCOhost)
provides profiles of more than 500,000 figures from antiquity to the present. The database is searchable by name, profession, place of origin, gender, race/ethnicity, date of birth, or keyword. It includes images, bibliographies and millions of magazine articles for further research, as well as thousands of links to book review citations.
Salem Press Literature
provides Critical Insights on Authors(Camus, Hemingway, London, Twain, and Plath) and literary works (Death of a Salesman, Dracula, Grapes of Wrath, Great Gatsby, and To Kill a Mockingbird) and literary themes (dystopia, good and evil, and the American dream).
The following databases also cover literature along with other topics:
Academic Search Premier (EBSCOhost)
provides full text coverage for nearly 4,700 scholarly publications, including more than 4,000 peer-reviewed full-text journals. Coverage spans virtually every area of academic study.
Encyclopedias & Reference Books
WNC Library has access to over 1,000 specialized encyclopedias, dictionaries, and almanacs - many in the literary field.
This databases will help to understand the historical context of a piece of literature.
Contact the Library:
Carson City Campus Library
2201 W. College Parkway, Carson City, NV 89703
Main: (775) 445-3229
| Beck Library, Fallon Campus
160 Campus Way, Fallon, NV 89406
Main: (775) 423-5330