Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Off-Campus Database Access
Students and staff must log into library databases when using the databases from off-campus.
If you have not done so already, activate your WNCAnywhere Account to access all online resources at WNC.
(775) 445-3229 (Carson City)
(775) 423-5330 (Fallon)
Academic Search Premier (EBSCOhost)
provides full text coverage for nearly 4,700 scholarly publications, including more than 4,000 peer-reviewed full-text journals. Coverage spans virtually every area of academic study.
MasterFILE Complete (Ebscohost)
provides indexing and abstracting to approximately 4,600 journals and general-interest magazines - more than 2,300 in full-text. It also includes hundreds of full-text books, thousands of biographies, historical documents and photos, maps and flags.
The following databases cover contemporary social issues:
provides in-depth, unbiased analyses of current controversial topics. Each issue provides a broad overview of a single subject including a history of the issue, important government actions, pros and cons, and additional links to books, articles, websites on the topic. Produced by Congressional Quarterly.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context
provides analyses of today’s social issues. With over 19,000 viewpoint essays, thousands of topic overviews and court-case overviews, OVIC helps students explore issues from all perspectives. In addition to traditional resources like books, magazines and journals, OVIC includes links to vetted websites as well as integrated multimedia to quality podcasts and video, national and global news sources, and much more.
Search for a Specific Journal
The WNC Library subscribes to most of its journals online through its database subscriptions. To determine if the library subscribes to a particular journal online or in print, use the following search box.