Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
When to Use Articles
Articles are great for:
- current, focused information on a topic
- the latest primary research and important developments in a field
- providing bibliographies of related research
- information on local and state issues
The library has over two dozen databases that feature free access to articles. Find some excellent databases below.
Off-Campus Database Access
Students and staff must log in with their WNC Anywhere passwords when using the library databases from off-campus. The WNC Anywhere passwords are used to access myWNC, the campus wireless network and Canvas. The following links should help resolve most log in problems:
If you need additional help logging in, contact the library at 775-445-3229 or 775-445-3227.
(775) 445-3229 (Carson City)
(775) 423-5330 (Fallon)
Business Source Elite (EBSCOhost)
provides full text for nearly 1,100 business and economics magazines and journals, including 500 peer-reviewed publications. It includes company profiles for 10,000 of the world’s largest companies and is updated daily.
Academic Search Premier (EBSCOhost)
provides full text coverage for nearly 4,700 scholarly publications, including more than 4,000 peer-reviewed full-text journals. Coverage spans virtually every area of academic study.
Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis) features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790.
MasterFILE Complete (Ebscohost)
provides indexing and abstracting to approximately 4,600 journals and general-interest magazines - more than 2,300 in full-text. It also includes hundreds of full-text books, thousands of biographies, historical documents and photos, maps and flags.
Still not finding what you need? Ask the librarian for help or try Google Scholar. Google Scholar searches for academic materials across a wide variety of resources. The downside? Often, not always, there are charges to access the material.
Video introductions to using the databases found on this page are below.