Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
When to Use Encyclopedias
Encyclopedias are ideal for starting research, helping you to focus your research and saving you time. In just a few pages, most encyclopedias provide:
- basic, background information about various topics.
- essential who, what, when, where, where, why, and how of a topic,
- key terminology of the subject
- a bibliography at the end to help you find other quality resources.
Highlighted Reference Materials
Encyclopedia of American Education by The only comprehensive reference to the development and present state of American education, ""Encyclopedia of American Education, Third Edition"" includes more than 2,000 entries spanning the colonial period to the present. This authoritative three-volume reference provides a wealth of information on virtually every aspect of education, from the evolution of school curriculum, education funding, and church-state controversies to the latest debates on multiculturalism, prayer in school, and sex education. Author Harlow G. Unger, one of the country's foremost education experts, has substantially updated existing entries and added more than 40 new entries. Appendixes include significant federal legislation, important U.S. Supreme Court decisions, and lists of undergraduate majors and graduate school programs. More than 10 new photographs have been added to this edition, and more than half a dozen experts in education served as editorial consultants for this encyclopedia.
Call Number: LB17 .U54 2007
Publication Date: 2007
Encyclopedia of Special Education by This resource features school psychology, neuropsychology, reviews of new tests and curricula that have been developed since the last edition, and biographies of important figures in special education. Unique in focus, the Encyclopedia of Special Education, Third Edition addresses issues of importance ranging from theory to practice and is a critical reference for researchers as well as those working in the special education field.
Call Number: Reference LC4007 .E53 2007
Publication Date: 2007
The following databases include the full content of over 700 general and specialized encyclopedias.
includes the full-text content from over 850 encyclopedias and other reference books covering a broad range of subjects. There are over 3 million articles and 200,000+ images (art, diagrams, maps and photos).
Gale Virtual Reference Library
includes the full-text content from over 200 special topic encyclopedias and other reference books.
(775) 445-3229 (Carson)
(775) 423-5330 (Fallon)
Contact the Library:
Carson City Campus Library
2201 W. College Parkway, Carson City, NV 89703
Main: (775) 445-3229
Research Help: (775) 445-3227
| Beck Library, Fallon Campus
160 Campus Way, Fallon, NV 89406
Main: (775) 423-5330