It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Databases A - Z: Home
This guide contains an alphabetical list of WNC Library's electronic resources and databases.
Students and staff must log in with their WNC Anywhere passwords when using the library databases from off-campus. The WNC Anywhere passwords are used to access myWNC, the campus wireless network and Canvas. The following links should help resolve most log in problems:
ABC-CLIO covers historical and geographical topics in the following databases: American Government, American History, United States Geography, World Geography, World History: Ancient & Medieval Eras, World History: The Modern Era, and World at War. (OFF-CAMPUS ACCESS IS SLOW. Wait a few minutes after logging in.)
is the online equivalent of the most current edition of the McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology, which also includes biographies of scientists, recent science-related news articles, study guides, and web site links.
is the leading provider of automotive diagnostic and repair information. The database includes manufacturer’s technical service bulletins and recall information; wiring diagrams; automatic repair information updates; as well as inspection forms, system checklists, and answers to common customer questions. Note: This database is not available from off-campus.
provides profiles of more than 500,000 figures from antiquity to the present. The database is searchable by name, profession, place of origin, gender, race/ethnicity, date of birth, or keyword. It includes images, bibliographies and millions of magazine articles for further research, as well as thousands of links to book review citations.
provides full text for nearly 1,100 business and economics magazines and journals, including 500 peer-reviewed publications. It includes company profiles for 10,000 of the world’s largest companies and is updated daily.
ChiltonPRO provides auto repair manuals, mechanical R&R (Remove & Replace) procedures, diagnostics, OEM recommended maintenance schedules, and OEM Technical Service Bulletins for automobiles and light trucks. It also provides estimates as to the typical labor time required for various repairs and procedures and sample ASE Technician Test Preparation (TTP) Quizzes.
provides full text for more than 770 nursing and allied health journals and indexing of more than 5,000 journals. This database contains over 5.3 million records, as well as evidence-based care sheets, clinical innovations, drug records, and clinical trials. It also includes over 100 interactive continuing education units (CEUs) on patient care and drug administration.
provides in-depth, unbiased analyses of current controversial topics. Each issue provides a broad overview of a single subject including a history of the issue, important government actions, pros and cons, and additional links to books, articles, websites on the topic. Produced by Congressional Quarterly.
includes the full-text content from over 850 encyclopedias and other reference books covering a broad range of subjects. There are over 3 million articles and 200,000+ images (art, diagrams, maps and photos).
This collection provides full-text online access to over 180,000 books covering a broad range of academic topics. Books can be be downloaded or read on most eReaders. Book sections can also be emailed or printed (up to 60 pages).
supported by the U.S. Department of Education, provides full text of more than 2,200 digests along with citations and abstracts from over 1000 educational and education-related journals. This database contains more full-text ED documents.
offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.
offers full text from over 2,000 books, 200 leading history journals, nearly 57,000 historical documents, more than 78,000 biographies of historical figures, 113,000 historical photos and maps, and 80 hours of historical video.
Using nearly 1,000 online tutorials, practice tests, and eBooks, this service helps to build skills in reading, writing, math, and basic sciences; prepare for placement tests and the GED, learn computer programs like Microsoft and Adobe Photoshop, and research careers.
MainFile is a multi-disciplinary database providing full text for more than 12,000 publications, including many trade journals in the vocational fields, including construction, welding, machine tool, electronics, and automotive.
provides indexing and abstracting to approximately 4,600 journals and general-interest magazines - more than 2,300 in full-text. It also includes hundreds of full-text books, thousands of biographies, historical documents and photos, maps and flags.
Created by the United States National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE is an authoritative bibliographic database containing citations and abstracts for biomedical and health journals used by health care professionals, nurses, clinicians and researchers.
Newspaper Source Plus provides full text for more than 860 (U.S.) & international newspapers. The database also contains selective full text for more than 350 regional (U.S.) newspapers, including current issues of the Las Vegas Review Journal & the Las Vegas Sun. In addition, full text television & radio news transcripts are also provided.
provides analyses of today’s social issues. With over 19,000 viewpoint essays, thousands of topic overviews and court-case overviews, OVIC helps students explore issues from all perspectives. In addition to traditional resources like books, magazines and journals, OVIC includes links to vetted websites as well as integrated multimedia to quality podcasts and video, national and global news sources, and much more.
includes e-book versions of the Great Events from History books (Ancient World, Middle Ages, Renaissance, 17th Century, 18th Century), the Encyclopedia of American Immigration, and the Sixties Decades published by Salem Press.
provides Critical Insights on Authors(Camus, Hemingway, London, Twain, and Plath) and literary works (Death of a Salesman, Dracula, Grapes of Wrath, Great Gatsby, and To Kill a Mockingbird) and literary themes (dystopia, good and evil, and the American dream).